Armenian Opposition Protest the Election Results

Opposition Protest in front of Government Building © Photo by Artur Papyan, Yerevan, 2008

Armenian opposition gathered more then 50 thousand supporters for a rally protesting the election results in front of Matenadaran today, closing the Mashtots avenue from Matenadaran till Nairi Cinema theater. Nikol Pashinyan, one of the most vocal opposition leaders, editor in-cheif of the Haykakan Zhamanak daily announced, that the opposition denounces the elections, and calls for a new round of elections. Presidential candidate, Former President Levon Ter-Petrossian in his speech characterized the elections as “shameful”. He further called Prime Minister Serzh Sargsyan’s victory the “victory of the criminal world, ….victory of Mher from Tokhmakh, Mouk from Mkhchyan, Nemets Rubo, Dodi Gago, Lfik Samo…” , naming the oligarchs supporting the Prime Minister, who according to preliminary data, has won the elections by more then 52 %.

Continue reading “Armenian Opposition Protest the Election Results”

1 million 669 thousand 114 citizens voted. Serzh Sargsyan is Leading, Officially

The elections signified by an incredible number of violations, are over. I spent the election day in the newsroom of the Complaints and information on various violations kept pouring in. The situation was apparently several times worse in the Regions. Our journalists visited several sites of violations and noted the boldness with which those were being carried out: ballots stuff, voters intimidated, journalists hindered from their work. Reports from Hetq, Echannel, Armnifo, A1plus give me enough background to state, that the authorities most coldheartedly raped the concept of free and fair elections and might as well get away with it. Anyway, below is some official data on the outcome of elections from

The president of the Central Electoral Commission Garegin Azatyan informed that in the elections of February 19 in 1913 polling stations from 1923 opened in Armenia voted about 1 million 669thousand 114 voters. The following is the breakdown of votes for all candidates:

  1. Serzh Sargsyan -859 658 votes
  2. Levon Ter Petrosyan – 349 781 votes
  3. Arthur Baghdasaryan -271 698 votes
  4. Vahan Hovhannisyan- 100 545 votes
  5. Vazgen Manoukyan -20 930 votes
  6. Tigran Karapetyan -9 747 votes
  7. Artashes Geghamyan -7 458 votes
  8. Arman Melikyan – 4 354 votes
  9. Aram Harutyunyan 3 098 votes

For live chart of election results click here:

Scroll to top